In the Studio with Not Vital

  • Mon 17 August 2020
  • 6 pm

On the occasion of the exhibition 'Not Vital. SCARCH' currently on view at Hauser & Wirth Somerset, and organized with Olivier Renaud-Clément and Giorgia von Albertini, please join us for a live virtual studio visit on Zoom with the artist at his home in Sent, Switzerland.

Led by Stefano Rabolli Pansera, Director at Hauser & Wirth, along with co-curator Giorgia von Albertini, the live studio visit will explore the principles developed by Vital, such as the inversion between inside and outside, and including references to the exhibition in Somerset as well as a selection of global projects. Join us live on Zoom on Monday 17 August, 6 pm CET / 5 pm BST / 12 pm EST / 9 am PST About Not Vital Not Vital is a Swiss sculptor and painter from the mountain village of Sent, located in the Engadine valley of Switzerland. He currently lives and works in Rio de Janeiro, Beijing, and Sent. Vital’s multifaceted oeuvre, which encompasses drawing, painting, sculpture, and built structures, reflects his quasi-nomadic lifestyle. In order to give a name to his more recent large-scale structures that bridge sculpture and architecture, Vital coined the term ‘SCARCH’ in 2009. About Giorgia Von Albertini Giorgia von Albertini is an independent curator and writer based in Switzerland. Von Albertini’s most recent curatorial projects include Not Vital: Saudade, Galeria Nara Roesler, São Paulo; Martin Soto Climént: In the Shadow of an Invisible Thread, Hessel Museum of Art, New York; Bethan Huws, Galerie Tschudi, Zuoz; and DREAM MACHINES: Salvatore Scarpitta and Panamarenko, Fundaziun Not Vital, Tarasp. Working closely with Vital since 2016, she manages his studio and foundation and has written extensively about Vital’s work. About ‘Not Vital: SCARCH’ from Hauser & Wirth Publishers ‘Not Vital: SCARCH’ is a survey of sculptural architect Not Vital’s career, published on the occasion of the January 2020 exhibition at Hauser & Wirth Somerset. Vital has created and installed responsive works that are integrated into habitats and communities around the globe: in the Engadine region of his native Switzerland and across Europe, Africa, South America, and Asia. Edited and with texts by Olivier Renaud-Clément and Giorgia von Albertini, the book features Vital’s prose and poems, and additional essays by Akhmed Haïdara, Philip Jodidio, and Tilla Theus. The book brings together the far-flung locations where the artist’s works are situated and envisioned, and his projects and typologies are introduced by geographic groupings.

Click here to purchase

UPCOMING EVENTS