Search
2021_Idomeneo_c_Wilfried Hösl (3)

Films

Livestream: Mozart’s ‘Idomeneo’ at Munich Opera Festival

Live-streaming Saturday 24 July, 6 pm CEST, featuring sets by artist Phyllida Barlow
Hauser & Wirth is honored to present a co-livestream event, in partnership with the world-renowned Bayerische Staatsoper and the Munich Opera Festival, of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s operatic masterpiece ‘Idomeneo’. The production, featuring sets by artist Phyllida Barlow, will be free to view LIVE on hauserwirth.com Saturday 24 July at 6 pm CEST, 12 pm ET and 9 am PT.
csm_Idomeneo_600_e73c668311
Promotional image for 'Idomeneo' courtesy of Bayerische Staatsoper and the Munich Opera Festival

In a risky deal with the Gods, King Idomeneo returns home to Crete, after the Trojan War, where he vows to Poseidon to sacrifice the first living being he meets upon his arrival. Fate deals him a bitter blow as Idomeneo tragically encounters his son Idamantes.

This ancient story unfolds through the mastery, emotion and lyricism of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s brilliant score, with libretto by Giambattista Varesco, and is largely considered Mozart’s greatest choral opera.

Phyllida Barlow Studio 2018
Phyllida Barlow in her Studio, 2018 © Phyllida Barlow. Photo: Cat Garcia
2021_Idomeneo_E. D'Angelo_c_Wilfried Hösl
Production of 'Idomeneo' featuring sets by Phyllida Barlow. Photo by Wilfried Hösl © Wilfried Hösl

‘Idomeneo’ by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Libretto by Giambattista Varesco
In Italian with English subtitles

Bayerische Staatsoper – Munich Opera Festival
Livestreaming Saturday 24 July 2021
6 pm CEST; 12 pm ET; 9 am PT
Prinzregententheater

Conductor: Contantinos Carydis
Bayerisches Staatsorchester

Production: Antú Romero Nunes
Set design by Phyllida Barlow

With
Matthew Polenzani
Emily D’Angelo
Olga Kulchynska
Hanna-Elisabeth Müller